DOAS ISSUE #5 ‘FOOD’ LAUNCH INTERVIEW SERIES: IMMIGRANT UNION

Over the next two weeks,  we interview the capable ladies and gents speaking and performing at DOAS’ Issue #5 ‘FOOD’ launch on 12 May.

We’re thrilled to have Immigrant Union play at the FOOD issue launch on 12 May. Rob Harrow, Peter Lubulwa, Courtney Barnett and Bones Sloane, replete with Dandy Warhol — Brent DeBoer, are launching their self-titled album elsewhere that afternoon, then rolling down the hill to Collingwood to play again. We highly recommend you do a psychedelic camp-fire core dirty double that day. DOAS interviewed Brent from Immigrant Union.

Do you like food and cooking? What’s your favourite?
I do like cooking. I am a stovetop cooker. Baking is not my thing. I like to be able to hold ingredients to my nose as I lean over the dish and sorta waft the aroma to my face to see if it will add to the dish. I can’t do that in the oven.

Do you have any food related songs?
No I don’t think so. My other band the Dandy Warhols has a song about nougat candy though. I have written a lot of songs about drinks!

Cheech and Chong, eh? What’s your favourite movie of theirs or movie that they’ve been in?
Up in smoke! That opening scene is so damned funny I can watch it over and over.

You all play in different bands — how does that work for you?
It’s a lot of air miles. I fly back and forth to Europe and America and Australia 4 or 5 times a year. It’s nice playing guitar in one band and drumming in another. The Dandy Warhols have a record coming out about the same time as Union so it will be a very busy and loud 2012 for me.

Tell me a bit about the history of Immigrant Union and what’s in store for the future?
Bob and I met years ago and started writing songs shortly after I moved to Australia. We have a new record to be released in a couple weeks that we recorded in Oregon. Now we have a solid 6 piece and have all the songs ready for our next record. We think it will be a very special album indeed.

Tell me about your fave bands and fave places to play?
I like all the same 1960s and 1970s bands as the next guy. I like a lot of hip hop and metal as well. Hmmm… I don’t really have a specific band I listen to more than another. I’ve been listening to a lot of Desmond Dekker actually. It’s so cool.

Immigrant Union launch their much awaited self-titled album on 12 May 2012 on the Evelyn Hotel Rooftop — 351 Brunswick St Fitzroy. Doors open 2pm, IU play at 5pm.

 IU Myspace
Facebook event page 

About deathofascenester

death of a scenester is an independent publication aiming to publish quality writing with a real voice. death of a scenester will maintain a gritty, punk, DIY underground edge but will also uphold a slicker style. Its ethos is that it would like to strike the ground squarely between a gritty grass-roots zine publication that promotes the total freedom of artistic and individual expression and Realpolitik (pragmatic, honest, controversial) type publications, which have articles and opinion pieces that refer to the generation gap, music, art, immigration, and counter-cultural activities.
This entry was posted in Interviews, Launch info. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

